Ran the Big Mountain Trail Run course this weekend. Hurry and sign up! It's a breathtaking course that you won't want to miss!
Paul H.
3/5/2013 02:35:41 am

the weather is making training on trails difficult. snow, melt, mud, snow. But the alternative is sitting on the couch. I'll deal with the mud.

Reply
Donna
4/2/2013 02:35:23 am

Paul/Chelsea: Should I be investing in another set of shoes for trail running? If so, advice/recommendations?

Reply
4/2/2013 03:55:53 am

Hey, Donna. Great question! So, I take it you are primarily a road runner making the switch to trails?

Many trail runners are adamant that you need a trail shoe for the trail and a road shoe for the road. However, my experience has showed me that shoe cross-over is very easy here in Colorado.

I am pretty much a trail ONLY kind of runner, and I liked the fit of a road shoe better than any other trail shoe for the past 2 years and that's what I used until recently. I went EVERYWHERE in those shoes. Even cross country (no trail) running in back country navigation competitions. I only noticed a small difference in traction when I was somewhere muddy or wet.

If you will be trail running in a soggy wet area, I'd advise to invest in trail shoes with good lugs on them....but that's just not Colorado. Trail shoes can be nice for grip but it seems to only make a fraction of a difference....sometimes overall foot comfort makes more of a difference over the course of a race. Happy Adventures, Donna!

Chelsea Luttrall
3/5/2013 02:59:02 am

Definitely worth it, Paul! Keep it up!

Reply
Shalyn Kessler
1/6/2014 04:45:35 am

Will there be a Big Mtn Trail 1/2 for April 2014? I am planning my race calendar and would like to add this date.
Thank you

Reply



Leave a Reply.